National Book Award Winners

And the winner for fiction is Colum McCann's Let the Great World Spin.  I can only hope that this book gets better as one continues to read it, because so far, I'm not particularly impressed.

Poetry--Keith Waldrop, Transcendental Studies: A Trilogy

Gore Vidal was awarded the medal for distinguished contribution and Dave Eggers took the 2009 Literarian Award.

As you can see I left non-fiction for last, as I've placed these roughly in the order of interest (poetry and fiction being somewhat at the same level): T. J. Stiles, The First Tycoon: The Epic Life of Cornelius Vanderbilt.

National Book Award Site--includes interviews with some of the nominees


Popular posts from this blog

Structures--Ulysses and Mrs. Dalloway

Another Queen of Night

Lewis Carroll and James Joyce